B.C. Cabinet & First Nations Leaders' Gathering Jan 2025 – Agenda

| Monday, January 20, 2025 | | | | |
|---------------------------|--|----------------------|--|--|
| Time | Session | Room | | |
| 2:00 PM – 7:00 PM | Delegate Registration | Level 1 Foyer | | |
| 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM | B.C. Chiefs Caucus | Room 109 - 110 | | |
| 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM | Welcome Reception Hosted by the Business Council of British Columbia and the BC Federation of Labour Welcome: xʷməθkʷəỷəm (Musqueam) Nation | Level 3 Summit Foyer | | |
| Tuesday, January 21, 2025 | | | | |
| Time | Session | Room | | |
| 7:00 AM – 5:00 PM | Registration Open | Level 1 Foyer | | |
| 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM | Exhibit Booths Open | Ballroom A | | |
| 7:30 AM – 8:30 AM | BREAKFAST | West Ballroom Foyer | | |
| 8:30 AM – 8:40 AM | Welcome Remarks MCs: Leah George-Wilson and Harold Tarbell Welcome: səİilwətat (Tsleil-Waututh) | Ballroom B | | |
| 8:40 AM – 9:00 AM | Opening Remarks-Nasu?kin Cheryl Casimer, ?aq‡smaknik pi¢ak pa‡kiy, First Nations Summit Political Executive-Regional Chief Terry Teegee, British Columbia Assembly of First Nations-Hon. David Eby, K.C., Premier, Province of British Columbia-Grand Chief Stewart Phillip, ?a?siwł, President, Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs | Ballroom B | | |
| 9:00 AM – 10:50 AM | PLENARY SESSION 1 – Government Commitments and Ministerial Mandate Letters | Ballroom B | | |
| | Moderator: Dr. Roshan Danesh, K.C. - Hon. David Eby, K.C., <i>Premier, Province of British Columbia</i> | | | |

| | Hon. Christine Boyle, Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation Hon. Niki Sharma, K.C., Attorney General of British Columbia and Deputy Premier Hon. Tamara Davidson, Minister of Environment and Parks Hon. Ravi Kahlon, Minister of Housing and Municipal Affairs Hon. Randene Neill, Minister of Water, Land and Resource Stewardship Hon. Josie Osborne, Minister of Health | |
|---------------------|--|---------------------|
| 10:50 AM – 11:00 AM | BREAK – Transition to One-on-One Meetings (refreshments served in Ballroom A) | |
| 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM | ONE-ON-ONE MEETINGS | Multiple Rooms |
| 11:15 AM – 12:00 PM | DISCUSSION SESSION 1 – Repatriation Policy Framework Co-Development Robert Chamberlin, Royal BC Museum Board Director, Chair of the Indigenous Advisory and Advocacy Committee and Co-Chair, Repatriation Policy Framework Steering Committee Claire Avison, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport, and Co-Chair, Repatriation Policy Framework Steering Committee | Ballroom B |
| 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM | LUNCH | West Ballroom Foyer |
| 1:00 PM | Deadline for One-on-One Meeting Requests | Level 1 Foyer |
| 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM | ONE-ON-ONE MEETINGS | Multiple Rooms |
| 1:00 PM – 1:45 PM | DISCUSSION SESSION 2 – Relationships for Change; Implementation of the BC First Nations Climate Strategy | Ballroom B |
| | Regional Chief Terry Teegee, British Columbia Assembly of First Nations Hugh Braker, K.C., Political Executive, First Nations Summit Grand Chief Stewart Phillip, ?a?siwł, President, Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs Janna Wale, Indigenous Research and Partnerships Lead, Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions Ian Mauro, Executive Director, Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions Fraser Hof, Associate Vice-President Research, University of Victoria | |
| 1:45 PM – 2:30 PM | DISCUSSION SESSION 3 – B.C. First Nations Data Governance Initiative | Ballroom B |
| | Harmony Johnson, B.C. First Nations Regional Information Governance Centre Mary Czernick, South Island Indigenous Authority Erica Pepevnak, South Island Indigenous Authority Ernest Armann, St'at'imc Government Services Pamela Garner, Ulkatcho First Nation | |

| | June Lulua, Ulkatcho First Nation David Hansen, Kitselas Five-Tier System Tiyanee Stevens, Kitselas Five-Tier System Jennifer Lewis, Okanagan Nation Alliance Suzanne Johnson, Okanagan Nation Alliance Emmeline Marshall-Hill, Nuchahtlaht First Nation Nicole Reed, Nuchahtlaht First Nation | | | |
|-----------------------------|--|---------------------|--|--|
| 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM | YOUTH CAUCUS | Ballroom D | | |
| 2:30 PM – 2:45 PM | BREAK (refreshments served in West Ballroom Foyer) | | | |
| 2:45 PM – 3:30 PM | DISCUSSION SESSION 4 – Update on Key Priorities in K-12 and Post-Secondary Education | Ballroom B | | |
| | Deborah Jeffrey, Executive Director, First Nations Education Steering Committee Jennifer McCrea, Associate Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education and Child Care Brad Baker, Superintendent of Indigenous Education, Ministry of Education and Child Care | | | |
| 3:30 PM – 4:15 PM | DISCUSSION SESSION 5 – Land Title and Property Law Amendment Act | Ballroom B | | |
| | Carolyn Kamper, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation Colin Ward, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Water, Land and Resource Stewardship Carlos MacDonald, Director of Land Titles of BC, Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia | | | |
| 5:00 PM | END OF DAY | | | |
| Wednesday, January 22, 2025 | | | | |
| Time | Session | Room | | |
| 7:30 AM – 3:00 PM | Registration Open | Level 1 Foyer | | |
| 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM | Exhibit Booths Open | Ballroom A | | |
| 7:30 AM – 8:30 AM | BREAKFAST | West Ballroom Foyer | | |
| 8:30 AM – 8:40 AM | Welcome Remarks MCs: Leah George-Wilson and Harold Tarbell Welcome: Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish) | Ballroom B | | |

| 8:40 AM – 10:00 AM | PLENARY SESSION 2 – Tŝilhqot'in (William) Decision – 10 Years Later | Ballroom B |
|---------------------|---|-----------------------------------|
| | This session will be opened and closed by Ts'iqi Dechen Jedilhtan (Tŝilhqot'in Women's Council) Moderator: Chastity Davis-Alphonse The Nitsil?in-Qi (Tŝilhqot'in Council of Chiefs): Nitsil?in (Chief) Joe Alphonse, O.B.C., LL.D. (hon.), <i>Tl'etinqox Government, TNG Tribal Chair</i> Nitsil?in Otis Guichon, Sr., <i>Tŝideldel First Nation, TNG Vice-Chair</i> Nitsil?in Roger William, LL.D. (hon.), <i>Xeni Gwet'in First Nations Government</i> Nitsil?in Francis Laceese, <i>Tl'esqox (Toosey Indian Band)</i> Nitsil?in Lennon Solomon, <i>Yuneŝit'in Government</i> Nitsil?in Troy Baptiste, <i>?Esdilagh First Nation</i> Jenny Philbrick, <i>TNG Executive Director</i> Angelina Stump, Chair, <i>Ts'iqi Dechen Jedilhtan</i> Hon. David Eby, K.C., <i>Premier, Province of British Columbia</i> Regional Chief Terry Teegee, <i>British Columbia Assembly of First Nations</i> International Chief Dr. Wilton (Willie) Littlechild, I.P.C, K.C. | |
| 10:00 AM - 10:10 AM | BREAK - Transition to One-on-One Meetings (refreshments served in Ballroom A) | |
| 10:10 AM – 12:30 PM | ONE-ON-ONE MEETINGS | Multiple Rooms |
| 10:30 AM – 11:45 AM | DISCUSSION SESSION 6 – Children and Families – Co-Development of BC Funding Model | Ballroom B |
| | Tl'ul'thut Robert Morales, Legal Counsel and Lead Negotiator, Cowichan Tribes Salla Sukow, Executive Director, Galgapothla Family Services Society Allen Cummings, Lead Negotiator, Binche Whut'en Penny Lloyd, Executive Director, Indigenous Agreements Branch, Ministry of Children and Family Development Brad Snell, Executive Director, Indigenous Fiscal Policy, Ministry of Children and Family Development | |
| 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM | LUNCH - Report out from Youth Caucus Closing Remarks - Hon. Christine Boyle, Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation - Robert Phillips, First Nations Summit Political Executive - Regional Chief Terry Teegee, British Columbia Assembly of First Nations - Chief Don Tom, Kwul'thut'stun, Vice-President, Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs | West Ballroom Foyer Ballroom B |
| 1:30 PM – 1:40 PM | Transition to One-on-One Meetings | |

| 1:40 PM – 4:00 PM | ONE-ON-ONE MEETINGS | Multiple Rooms |
|-------------------|---------------------|----------------|
| 4:00 PM | END OF GATHERING | |